2019 Publisher Introduction Program Fellowships

Thank you to the publishers from Allen & Unwin, Black Inc, HardieGrant, HarperCollins, Pan Macmillan, Penguin Random House, University of Queensland Press and UWA Publishing for making the selection, and congratulations to the writers who will receive a fellowship.

We also thank Varuna consultants Mary Cunnane, Vanessa Kirkpatrick, Jo Butler and Louise Thurtell who assessed the 146 manuscripts that writers submitted.

Each of the selected writers will receive a full PIP Fellowship which includes a one-week residency, a literary mentor and the opportunity to resubmit their manuscript to their selecting publisher.

The writers who will receive a 2019 PIP Fellowship and the publishers who will read their work are:


Allen & Unwin

Kim Aikman, Heartwood


UWA Publishing

Gary Bryson, Thin Air


Hardie Grant Publishing

Adrienne Eberhard, Theo's Mermaid


University of Queensland Press

Julie Jedda Janson, Wilga


Penguin Random House

Angella Whitton, The Night River

Congratulations to all of our 2019 PIP Fellowship recipients. We are looking forward to seeing you at Varuna soon!


Amy Sambrooke