2018 Tyrone Guthrie Fellowship

Our judging panel would like to commend the extremely high quality of the applications received. Surely this is proof that Varuna alumni represent all that is good in contemporary Australian writing.

We are delighted to announce that the recipient of the 2018 Tyrone Guthrie Fellowship is Eliza-Jane Henry-Jones.

Our judging panel wanted to also recognise Donna Mazza, who was a very close second place. We have decided to offer Donna one of our 2019 Varuna Fellowships in recognition of her outstanding application.

Applications were judged on artistic merit and the professional development opportunities presented by the proposed residency at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre. Names were removed from the applications and the selection was judged by Varuna Board members Susan Hayes, former director of the Literature Board of the Australia Council for the Arts, and Claire Corbett, teacher of literature, film and creative writing.

Vera Costello